Minerva's Path

Seeking wisdom, meaning and balance through creativity.

I climbed a mountain to look at a lake

I climbed a mountain

to look at a lake

that was clothed in fog.

But I saw the forest

and the trees:

Bare branches crystallized

in frozen mist;

Winterberry trees dressed

for a cocktail party;

Dead trunks polka-dotted

with green splotches of moss;

A snowy trail, a shadow

wending between birches

and pine and stone;

A broken trunk swiss-cheesed

by hungry woodpeckers.

Snow crunched under

my snowshoes.

I shed hat and gloves;

my scarf became a

scarlet voyageur’s sash.

Near the summit I beheld

the glint of sky on water

I ran to the summit

as the sky opened up to show

A lake running into heavens

amid islands of stone and cloud.

The sun

came out to watch

as the lake disrobed.

January 18, 2010
Oberg Trail, near Lutsen, Minn.
January 20, 2010 Posted by | Uncategorized | 2 Comments